First Flight

I have a love for flying.

Well, here’s the whole truth…

I’m actually growing more fearful of flying as I age.  (I think it has something to do with replacing the childhood feeling of being invincible with the adult understanding of my mortality!) But, once upon a time- when my dad was alive, had his pilot’s license (and an airplane)- I felt like the queen of the skies.  It was such a peaceful experience, hovering above the earth among the clouds.  My father had a passion for flying.  At his funeral, the pastor recited my father’s favorite poem, “High Flight” by John Gillespie Magee, Jr.

My birthday falls on the anniversary of the first flight by the Wright Brothers-  December 17, 1903.   I like that.   I’m sure my dad did, too.

Check out these sites for some interactive activities for learning about the Wright Brothers and the first flight:

Explore the Wright shed at Kitty Hawk, take a virtual flight, and relive the Wright Brothers’ flight through narrated interactive and photo slide shows: http://dsc.discovery.com/convergence/wright/wright.html

Wright Brothers Game.  Visit the museum room to read and learn about the Wright Brothers and their achievements.  Then head to the dunes of Kitty Hawk to answer questions about what you have learned:  http://www.ueet.nasa.gov/StudentSite/games/wb2k3/wb2k3.html

The inspiration- The Wright Brothers first became interested in flight when they were young and their father brought home a toy helicopter.  Find out more here, including instructions on how to make a similar heliocopter: http://wings.avkids.com/Book/Wright/history1_p18991.html

When Pigs Fly (US mint.gov activity).  Learn about how planes fly and practice your skills in a virtual flight game: http://www.usmint.gov/kids/games/whenPigsFly/

(originally posted 12/17/08)

Leave a Reply

